Home / Home news / 2 appointed to Board of Regents

2 appointed to Board of Regents

Former U.S. Senator Dennis DeConcini and businesswoman Anne Mariucci have been appointed by Governor Napolitano to serve on the Arizona Board of Regents.

Mr. DeConcini is a Democrat and Ms. Mariucci is a Republican.

Mr. DeConcini replaces Jack Jewett and Ms. Mariucci replaces Chris Herstam. Their terms will expire in January of 2006. Regents appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

The term of a Regent is eight years. Every two years, two Regents finish their terms and two new Regents are appointed by the Governor.

“When two exceptional leaders agree to serve the state in this capacity, it’s a great day for Arizona,” Ms. Napolitano said. “Our state university system is the engine that drives growth in the Arizona economy of the future. I’m excited to have Dennis and Anne involved in defining that vision.”

The Board of Regents is the governing body of Arizona’s public university system.

Mr. DeConcini, a Democrat, served in the U.S. Senate from 1977 to 1995. Before that, Mr. DeConcini served as Pima County Attorney. He is a founding partner of the law firm DeConcini, McDonald, Yetwin and Lacy, and is a partner in the lobbying firm Parry Romani DeConcini & Symms Associates. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Arizona in 1959 and his law degree from the University of Arizona in 1963.

Ms. Mariucci served as President of the Del Webb Corporation, a national leader in large-scale community development and homebuilding. She is currently a private equity investor and is affiliated with Inlign Capital Partners in Phoenix, Hawkeye Partners in Dallas and Glencoe Capital in Chicago. Mr. Mariucci, a Republican, graduated from the University of Arizona with a degree in accounting and finance. She is currently a Director of the Arizona State Retirement System, Scottsdale Healthcare, the ASU Foundation, the Nature Conservancy and Fresh Start Women’s Foundation.

The Board has 12 members: 11 voting and one non-voting. This includes the Governor and Superintendent of Public Instruction as ex-officio members, each serving while they hold office, and two Student Regents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top