Home / Focus / Women in Government Nov. 2008 / Four inducted into Arizona Women's Hall of Fame

Four inducted into Arizona Women's Hall of Fame

Four new members were inducted to the Arizona Women’s Hall of Fame on Nov. 14 during a ceremony dedicated to the memory of the late Sen. Marilyn Jarrett.
Jarrett was a member of the state Legislature from 1995 until her death in 2006, serving as a member of the House of Representatives before being appointed as the senator for District 19 in 2001. She was serving as president pro tempore in the Senate at the time of her death, and had also held the position of majority whip for both the House and the Senate during her tenure.
She was memorialized by concurrent resolution passed by the Legislature after her death: “Senator Jarrett had a quiet presence and stately demeanor about her that were admired by all, and she was well-respected on both sides of the political aisle. Although she was very firm in her convictions, she mastered the art of being able to disagree without becoming disagreeable.”
Jarrett was an advocate for forest health, public safety and the justice system.
The Hall of Fame honorees, all inducted posthumously, were Betty Accomazzo (1926-1989), a rancher, historian and author from Laveen; Katharine Bartlett (1907-2001), a museum professional, anthropologist and scientist from Flagstaff; C. Louise Boehringer (1878-1956), a teacher, school superintendent, legislator and author from Yuma; and Sister Kathleen Clark (1919-2003), a nurse, child advocate and social worker from Tucson.
Jarrett herself was not inducted into the Arizona Women’s Hall of Fame at this time, but Sarah Weber, special events coordinator at the Carnegie Center said, “I sincerely hope that by having the ceremony held in her honor that that would inspire someone to nominate her.”
Nominees must be deceased for a minimum of two years, and the induction ceremonies are biennial, with the next scheduled for 2010.
The ceremony will take place at 3 p.m. at the Carnegie Center in downtown Phoenix.?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top