Home / NewsPeople / NewsPeople



Judith A. Patrick was named chair of the Board of Directors of SCF Arizona by Gov. Jan Brewer on May 19. Patrick, a Tucson resident, is the first woman appointed to the post and the first chair from outside the greater Phoenix area.

Patrick said she wants to ensure corporate stability and increased competitiveness through sound strategic planning, efficient management and well-defined goals.

Patrick also is the board chair for SCF Premier Insurance Co. and sits on the boards of the Southwestern Fair Commission Inc. and the Pima County Self Insurance Trust Fund.

SCF Arizona is the state’s largest provider of workers’ compensation insurance.


• Jessica Post joined Fennemore Craig’s Phoenix office as an associate in the area of commercial litigation on May 5.

Post previously served as a litigation associate at O’Melveney & Myers in Los Angeles, where she practiced in the areas of commercial litigation and labor and employment. Before beginning her practice at O’Melveny, Post clerked in Phoenix for U.S. District Court Judge Neil V. Wake.

C. Webb Crockett, an attorney with Fennemore Craig, has been given the Jesse A. Udall Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his skill as a lawyer and commitment to community service.

“Webb Crockett is a great and busy lawyer and a busy family man, who is not too busy to give back to the community. He truly has a distinguished background in the law and in community service and embodies the spirit of the award,” said Don Fletcher, chairman of the Phoenix chapter of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society.

Crockett has been practicing law with Fennemore Craig since 1963. He practices in the areas of utilities regulation, administrative law, legislation and environmental law.

The award is named after Jesse A. Udall, a member of Arizona’s Legislature from 1931-38, an Arizona Superior Court judge from 1960-72 and chief justice of the Arizona Supreme Court in 1964 and 1969.


• Brian Harel, a member of the class of 2009 at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University, was awarded one of the school’s top honors, the Daniel Strouse Prize, on May 15.

The $10,000 annual prize recognizes a law graduate whose academic strengths, contributions to the school’s Center for the Study of Law, Science & Technology and personal qualities most closely mirror those of the late Dan Strouse, the beloved professor and long time center director who died of cancer in August 2007 at the age of 57.

The Strouse honors were established in 2008 by Dr. John Shufeldt, a 2005 alumnus of the college and chief executive officer of Mesa-based NextCare Urgent Care.

• The Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce handed out its annual IMPACT Awards May 20 to the following honorees at a luncheon at the Arizona Biltmore Resort & Spa. More than 500 people packed the ballroom to honor the Valley’s business community for the 22nd consecutive year.

Western National Bank, IMPACT Business of the Year Award

One of the few locally-owned banks in Arizona, the organization strives to offer top-of-the-line banking products for small to mid-size businesses. Through their volunteer efforts, including the Golden Gate Community Center, Junior Achievement and the Scottsdale Charros, the bank’s employees work hard to be a part of the community they help fund.

Tri-Lite Builders IMPACT Award for Community Involvement

To celebrate the company’s 25th anniversary, owners Linda and Wayne Minde made the decision to sponsor a Habitat for Humanity home in Chandler. After contributing $25,000 of their own money, they raised the remaining $40,000 through sponsorships and in-kind donations from business partners and friends.

Keats, Connelly & Associates, LLC IMPACT Award for Company Culture

Through its “Employee Experience Committee,” the company assists its employees in creating a work/life balance. Benefits include flex time, telecommuting, company paid health benefits and tuition assistance.

O’Neil Printing, IMPACT Award for Innovation

Over the past few years, the company has converted its entire process to green technology through utilization of post-consumer waste recycled paper, soy based inks and bio-diesel in its delivery trucks.

Advantage Urgent Care, IMPACT Award for Response to Adversity

In 2006, CEO Bill Edwards suffered brain damage from a routine sinus surgery. After this near-fatal blow, his wife, an on-staff physician’s assistant, took the reins as the company’s president.

The Arizona Community Action Association honored the following people May 14 with the organization’s Community Action Leadership Awards, which recognize individuals and families that have demonstrated outstanding leadership on behalf of Arizonans living in poverty.

Steve Carr, of The Kur Carr Group — Margie Frost Champions Against Poverty Award

Debbie McCune Davis, Arizona Senate — Legislative Leadership Award

Donna Rossi of CBS 5 and Ryan Randazzo of The Arizona Republic— Media Leadership Award

Debbie Dickson — Beating the Odds Award

Louise Moskowitz of Arizona Public Service (APS) — Heart In Hand Award

Michael Johnson, Phoenix city councilman, District 8 — Heart In Hand Award

Linda Block, Pima County Cooperative Extension for the “Grandparents Raising Grandchildren” Program — Heart In Hand Award

Judy Arnold, Greater Foothills Helping Hands Faith in Action Agency — Heart In Hand Award

Dr. James Liguori of the Arizona Heart Institute — Heart In Hand Award

Rocio Arveson of the Pinal Hispanic Council — Heart In Hand Award


• Douglas Falconer, correctional officer who served on ASPC-Phoenix/Globe’s Inmate Wildland Fire crew, was honored May 1 during the 36th Annual Peace Officers Memorial Service at Wesley Bolin Memorial Plaza.

Falconer was lost in the line of duty on Oct. 1, 2008, while dispatched with the crew to the Sacramento Fire near the California border. Falconer, who is survived by his wife, first joined the ADC in 2004, and was a proud member of the Wildland Fire team since July 2007.

Correctional Officers have been honored in Arizona during the first full week of May since 1985.


• Arizona State University’s team bested nine finalists from some of the nation’s most prestigious universities in the annual National Security Innovation Competition on May 8 to take home first place for their innovation, focused on developing a new technology for detecting explosives.

The team’s winning entry, “a hybrid electrochemical-colorimetric sensing platform for explosive detection” would eventually allow for on-site screening for explosive materials. Second place went to the University of Notre Dame’s team for its entry, “enterprise network activities visualization,” and third place went to the team from the Colorado School of Mines for “activity recognition in a dense sensor network.”

This was the first year the competition was held at a national level. Organizers hope the success of this year’s event will attract more partners and sponsors so the event can continue to grow in the upcoming years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top