Quantcast
Home / Home news / Arizona expands age limit for child safety seats

Arizona expands age limit for child safety seats

Arizona motorists are going to have to use booster seats or other restraint systems for children through age 7 who are not more than 4 feet 9 inches tall.

Arizona already requires that children through age 4 use a child restraint system but the expanded requirement becomes law Aug. 20 under a bill signed Wednesday by Gov. Jan Brewer.

It makes violations subject to a $50 civil penalty, but it wouldn’t be imposed if the person later equips the vehicle with a restraint system.

The Arizona Automobile Association calls the legislation an important safety protection for children. The group says only two other states lack similar laws.

Arizona legislators blocked previous attempts because of objections about government intrusion and costs to parents.

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

 

x

Check Also

July 21, 2016 file photo of Sheriff Joe Arpaio (Associated Press)

Reports show Arpaio spent $12.6 million in re-election bid

The final campaign finance reports from the Maricopa County sheriff's election show that Republican Joe Arpaio spent a total of $12.6 million in his unsuccessful bid for a seventh term in office.