Home / business / Worsley nabs business backing over Pearce

Worsley nabs business backing over Pearce

Bob Worsley (left) and former Senate President Russell Pearce (File photos)

The Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry today announced it is endorsing political newcomer Bob Worsley in his attempt to block recalled Senate President Russell Pearce from returning to the Capitol.

“As a business owner who has created over 1,000 jobs in Arizona, I share common goals and the same guiding principles of the Chamber,” Worsley, the founder of SkyMall, said in a written statement. “If I am elected by the voters of Mesa, I pledge to elevate my legislative priorities and work on the issues that matter most to taxpayers: jobs and the economy.”

Many of the other endorsements listed were expected. It would have been a real surprise if Senate President Steve Pierce and House Speaker Andy Tobin, for example, didn’t get the chamber’s nod.

Also, the chamber backed former Democratic Sen. Ken Cheuvront, who is pitted in a primary race against Rep. Katie Hobbs, a Democrat from Phoenix, in the Legislative District 24 Senate race.

The list is also notable because the chamber withheld endorsing anybody in the Senate race in Legislative District 13, where Sen. Don Shooter, R-Yuma, and Sen. John Nelson, R-Litchfield Park, are vying for their party’s nomination.

All told, the chamber endorsed 56 legislative hopefuls and three Corporation Commission candidates.

Most of the candidates who are on the list are Republicans.

But some Democrats also received the chamber’s backing.

In the Senate races, the chamber is supporting Democrats Sen. Linda Lopez, Rep. Lynne Pancrazi, Sen. Jack Jackson, Jr., Cheuvront and Sen. Robert Meza.

Among House candidates, the Democrats who received the chamber’s endorsement are House Minority Leader Chad Campbell, Rep. Ruben Gallego, and newcomer Mike Snitz.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top