Connect with us:

‘Cap Times’ takes home 20 ANA Awards

‘Cap Times’ takes home 20 ANA Awards

Arizona Capitol Times captured 20 awards in this year’s Arizona Newspapers Association Better Newspapers Contest, including eight first place awards.

Judges recognized the Capitol Times with overall first place honors in the page design, special section/supplement or magazine and website categories. The paper earned second place in general excellence.

Managing Editor Matt Bunk said the awards reflect the newsroom staff’s expertise in parsing complex legislative and political issues for readers.

“These awards are an affirmation that our reporting has helped readers understand some of the most complex and dynamic political issues of our time,” Bunk said. “But more than that, we hope to provide a meaningful contribution to the public discourse and, in ways big and small, to the improvement of our state as a whole.”

Fifty-three Arizona newspapers submitted more than 1,300 entries in this year’s contest, which was judged by the Nevada Press Association. Papers submitted entries in nine general quality categories and 18 individual categories. The Capitol Times competes in the non-daily, circulation less than 3,500 division.

Award winners were announced during the ANA’s 2010 Fall Convention at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication on Oct. 16.

The complete list of awards won by the Arizona Capitol Times team is below:

Overall Awards
Division: Non-daily, circulation less than 3,500
Page Design Excellence: 1st
Newspaper Online Site/Web Page: 1st
Special Section, Newspaper Supplement or Magazine: 1st (Going Green)
General Excellence: 2nd
Reporting & Newswriting Excellence: 3rd
Community Service/Journalistic Achievement: 3rd
Individual Awards:
Division: Non-daily, circulation less than 3,500
Best Headline: 1st – Echo Chambers: Long session led to many missed votes (Josh Coddington)
Best Headline: 3rd – Taxes on smokes, cokes and booze might save AHCCCS (Don Harris)
Best News Story: 1st – How did we get into this mess? (Jim Small)
Best News Story: 2nd – Tyne’s ouster a sign of things to come (Jeremy Duda)
Investigative Reporting: 2nd – Coming up short (Jim Small)
Enterprise Reporting: 2nd – Gun fight brewing at Legislature (Jim Small)
Enterprise Reporting: 3rd – States’ rights showdown (Jeremy Duda, Luige del Puerto)
Best Column, Analysis or Commentary: 1st – Put Diaz back in the ring (Matt Bunk)
Best Column, Analysis or Commentary: 2nd – Sheriff Joe, a non-existent U.S. law and the next crime sweep (Matt Bunk)
Best Column, Feature or Criticism: 1st – Lawmakers’ first duty: Show up and vote (Matt Bunk)
Best Column, Feature or Criticism: 2nd – Bankruptcy filings show Tribune publisher was paid $334,000 last year (Matt Bunk)
Best Multimedia Storytelling: 2nd – Palin lends star power to McCain at Tucson rally (Evan Wyloge)
Best News Photograph: 2nd – Protesting SB1070 (Matt Bunk)
Best Feature Photo Layout: 1st – Reading, Riding and ‘Rithmetic (Bill Coates)

Click here for the complete list of the 2010 ANA Better Newspapers Contest winners.

– Josh Coddington

  1. livelybrowsers

    Thanks for good stuff

Leave a Reply