2011 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy Awards Luncheon and Presentation

The Arizona Capitol Times celebrated the fifth annual Leaders of the Year in Public Policy awards and presentation, celebrating outstanding individuals and organizations for their professional and civic involvement.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

This year’s event recognized the past four years of honorees with a
special pre-centennial kick-off with our State Balladeer, Dolan Ellis.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Introducing the Arizona Capitol Times 2011 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy Honorees:


Paul Matson, executive director, Arizona State Retirement System

Lifetime Achievement

John Driggs, former mayor of Phoenix

Social Services

Darrel Christenson, vice president/director of community integration, Arizona Bridge to Independent Living (ABIL)


David Martin, president, Associated General Contractors, Arizona Chapter

Public Safety – Paul Babeu, sheriff, Pinal County
Arts & Humanities – Eight-Arizona PBS Horizon
Business – Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold, Inc.
Education – Fred DuVal, chairman, Arizona Board of Regents
Environmental – Sandy Bahr, director, Sierra Club Grand Canyon Chapter
Healthcare – Robert Meyer, president & CEO, Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Government Transparency – Sen. Ron Gould, R-Lake Havasu City; Sen. Steve Gallardo, D-Phoenix; Rep. Ruben Gallego, D-Phoenix; Rep. Kimberly Yee, R-Phoenix
Volunteerism – Rep. Kate Brophy McGee, R-Phoenix
Unsung Hero – Hay Relief Donors

Watch a slideshow from the event:

Arizona Capitol Times 2010 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy Honorees:

Arts & Humanities – David Ira Goldstein, Arizona Theatre Company
Business – Todd Sanders, Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce
Economic Development – Christine Mackay, City of Chandler
Education – Tim Carter, Yavapai County Education Service Agency
Environment– Cheryl Lombard, The Nature Conservancy
Government – Central Arizona Water Conservation Project Board of Directors
Healthcare – Ronald S. Weinstein, M.D., Arizona Telemedicine Program, University of Arizona
Government Transparency – Rep. Chad Campbell, D-Phoenix, Rep. Russ Jones, R-Yuma, Sen. Frank Antenori, R-Tucson, Sen. Rebecca Rios, D-Apache Junction
Lifetime Achievement – Jack Brown, Arizona House of Representatives
Social Services – Arizona Families F.I.R.S.T. Program, TERROS
Technology – ServiceArizona.com, Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicles Division
Transportation – John Halikowski, Arizona Department of Transportation
Volunteerism – Russell Smoldon, Salt River Project
Unsung Hero – Dale Shewalter, Arizona Trail Association

Arizona Capitol Times 2009 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy Honorees:

Arts & Humanities – Rep. Michele Reagan, R-Scottsdale
Business – Jason Bagley, government affairs manager, Intel Corporation
Education – Project Citizen, administered by Arizona Foundation for Legal Services and Education
Environment– Patrick J. Cunningham, deputy director, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Government – Frank Fairbanks, Phoenix City manager
Healthcare – Tom Kelly, president and CEO, Schaller Anderson
Legislative – Rep. Ray Barnes, R-Phoenix
Lifetime Achievement – “A.J.” Jack Pfister, general manager, Salt River Project (posthumous)
Policy Development – Goldwater Institute
Public Safety – Roger Vanderpool, director, Arizona Department of Public Safety
Social Services – Kris Jacober, founder and president, Arizona Association for Foster and Adoptive Parents
Technology – Cox Communications
Transportation – Phil Gordon, mayor of Phoenix
Volunteerism – Kerry Martin (posthumous)
Unsung Hero – Elizabeth ‘Betty’ Rhodes, founder of Prefab of Arizona, now A New Leaf Foundation

Arizona Capitol Times 2008 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy Honorees:

Arts & Humanities – Sen. Barbara Leff, R-Paradise Valley
Business – Eileen Klein, United Health Group
Economic Development – Gov. Janet Napolitano
Education– Rep. Mark Anderson, R-Mesa
Environment– Sid Wilson, manager, Central Arizona Water Conservation District
Government – Jan Lesher, director, Arizona Department of Commerce
Healthcare – Anita C. Murcko, MD, medical director, clinical informatics and provider adoption, AHCCCS
Legislative – Tim Schmaltz, CEO/coordinator, PAFCO
Lifetime Achievement – Sen. Jake Flake (posthumous)
Public Safety – Chuck Foy, Arizona Public Employees Association
Social Services – Mark Holleran, CEO, Central Arizona Shelter Services (CASS)
Technology – Sen. Bob Burns, R-Peoria
Transportation – Victor Mendez, Arizona Department of Transportation
Volunteerism – Steve Lynn, VP UniSource Energy Corp. and Tucson Electric Power
Unsung Hero – Amina Donna Kruck, director of advocacy programs, ABIL

Arizona Capitol Times 2007 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy Honorees:

Arts & Humanities – Sen. Carolyn Allen, R-Scottsdale
Business – Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Economic Development – Kevin McCarthy, Arizona Tax Research Association
Education– Arizona Business and Education Coalition (ABEC)
Environment– David P. Kimball, III, Gallagher & Kennedy
Government – Sen. Bob Burns, R-Peoria
Healthcare – Hospice of the Valley
Legislative – Rebekah Friend, Arizona AFL-CIO
Lifetime Achievement – Chuck Shipley (posthumous)
Public Safety – Andrew P. Thomas, Maricopa County Attorney
Social Services – Gretchen Jacobs, Greenberg Traurig
Technology – Government Information Technology Agency, (GITA)
Transportation – Gary G. Hayes, Pima Association of Governments/Regional Transportation Authority
Volunteerism – Marty Shultz, Pinnacle West Capital Corp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *