Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Election 2014 / Three nominated to replace Waring in Senate 

Three nominated to replace Waring in Senate 

Two incumbent lawmakers and a party officer were nominated to replace Jim Waring, a Phoenix Republican who resigned his Senate seat last month to run for Congress.

Six candidates had vied for the chance to become Legislative District 7’s new senator.

Rep. Nancy Barto of Phoenix was the only one chosen after the first round of voting on Feb. 4; none of the other five candidates received enough votes to qualify for nomination during the first round.

But state law requires the district’s precinct committee to choose three possible replacements and send the list to the board of supervisors of the county where the legislative vacancy occurred.

After two more rounds of voting, Republican precinct committeemen picked Rep. Ray Barnes, also of Phoenix, and Ed Bunch, the district’s first vice-chairman.

The next step is for the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors to appoint Waring’s replacement from the three nominees.

Waring is one of three legislators who resigned after U.S. Rep. John Shadegg announced he would retire at the end of his term.

Former senator Pamela Gorman, a Republican from Anthem, and former representative Sam Crump, also from Anthem, turned in their resignation letters to run for Arizona’s 3rd Congressional District.

District 6 Republicans already had chosen three possible replacements for Gorman and forwarded their choices to the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors.

The Arizona Republican Party is organizing another meeting in Legislative District 6 next week to choose possible replacements for Crump.

It won’t be the last.

Sen. Jonathan Paton, a Republican from Tucson, also has said he will resign from the Legislature to challenge U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Giffords in Arizona’s 8th Congressional District.

Paton has not made it clear when he will resign. When that occurs, Republican precinct committeemen from Legislative District 30 will choose three nominees. And the Pima County Board of Supervisors will choose a replacement from among the three.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Congratulations to the 2020 Breakdown Breakouts!

Amidst a global pandemic, this year’s honorees persist in getting the work done. Their work ensures that critical services continue and that policies reflect Arizona’s ...

/* code for tag */