Congrats 2019 Leaders of the Year!


Each year, the Arizona Capitol Times recognizes men, women and organizations that have contributed greatly to Arizona’s growth.

These are people and groups that tirelessly hunker down each day to find ways to improve the quality of life of the state’s residents.

In the technology category, for example, Waymo is recognized for partnering with the City of Chandler to roll out a first-of-a-kind autonomous vehicle ride-hailing program, a forward looking experiment that could very well define the future not only in Arizona, but also for the rest of the world. The Arizona Corporation Commission, meanwhile, is a leader in promoting broadband access, implementing a program that is helping to draw federal funds to bring better internet connectivity to schools, particularly in the rural areas.

The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Barry Aarons, owner of The Aarons Company, for his nearly half a century of work as a public servant, advocate and lobbyist. Aarons served as special assistant, policy advisor and legislative director for former Gov. Fife Symington. He was also the longtime public affairs director for then Mountain Bell and US West.

The awardees – listed below – will be recognized during an awards night in September. They will also be profiled in a special edition of the Arizona Capitol Times.

Event sponsorship opportunity is available. Please contact Lisa Simpson at 602.889.7125 or [email protected] for details. To purchase a table or buy tickets to the event, please visit azcapitoltimes.com and look for the Capitol Store tab.