Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Breakouts Gallery


Congrats anew to the 2019 Arizona Capitol Times Breakdown Breakouts! These individuals routinely take on the most challenging issues, establishing their credentials through hard work, persistence and that independent spirit that defines the American southwest. They also have proven that age is no barrier to success. This year’s honorees exemplify these traits – they are competent, intelligent, competitive, and best of all, they want their neighborhoods, communities, cities,  and the state to succeed.

2019 Awardees!

Carlos Alfaro, Arizona Coalitions Director, The LIBRE Initiative

Emily Anne Gullickson, Co-Founder, A for Arizona

Phil Bashaw, Executive Director, Arizona Farm Bureau

Todd Baughman, Lobbyist, Policy Development Group

John Baumer, Director of Government Relations, ASCPA

Matt Contorelli, Director of Government and Legislative Affairs, Arizona Commerce Authority

Lisa Fernandez, Chief of Staff, Office of the Mayor, City of Phoenix

Shelbe Hunsaker, Policy Advisor, AZ Policy Connect

Steve Kilar, Communications Director, Morrison Institute for Public Policy at ASU

Lauren King, Senior Public Affairs Advisor, Triadvocates

Josh Kredit, Deputy Attorney General for Law and Policy, Arizona Attorney General’s Office

Beth Lewallen, President, Italicized Consulting

Laura Magnus, Owner, Magnus Public Policy

Megan Martin, Senior Government Relations Representative, SRP

Dianne McCallister, Public Policy Partners, Government Relations Specialist

Ryan O’Daniel, Principal, Intrepid Public Affairs

Nicholas Ponder, Legislative Director, League of Arizona Cities and Towns

Katie Prendergast, Government Affairs Representative, APS

Emily Rice, Government Relations Manager, B3 Strategies

Shaun Rieve, Associate Director, Veridus

Ben Scheel, Director, Bright Phoenix

Drew Sexton, Arizona State Director, Trump Presidential Re-Election Campaign

Rev. Katie Sexton, Executive Director, Arizona Faith Network

Joseph Valdez,  Director, Strategic Marketing & Communications, Center for the Future of Arizona

Tony Valdovinos, Firm President/CEO, La Machine Consulting


(P.S. The Arizona Capitol Times newsroom took no part in the selection process).

/* code for tag */