Clodfelter out, DeGrazia in for LD10 House

Katie Campbell//November 6, 2018

Clodfelter out, DeGrazia in for LD10 House

Katie Campbell//November 6, 2018

Rep. Kirsten Engel (D-Tucson)
Rep. Kirsten Engel (D-Tucson)

The single-shot strategy did not pay off for Republicans in the Legislative District 10 House race this year.

Early ballot results put Republican Rep. Todd Clodfelter in third right away, and he stayed there behind Democratic newcomer Domingo DeGrazia, a juvenile court trial attorney, and Democratic Rep. Kirsten Engel who got the most votes.

Clodfelter’s loss was not entirely shocking. The single-shot strategy paid off for him in 2016 when he was first elected, but the number of registered Republicans in the district has since shrunk. Democrats outnumber them by nearly 6,900 voters.

The district now returns to the status quo before 2016. Clodfelter lost election bids in 2014 and 2012 when the district was represented by two Democrats in the House.

DeGrazia was one of at least three Democratic newcomers who overcame Republican incumbents in the House. Jennifer Jermaine ousted Rep. Jill Norgaard in Legislative District 18, and Aaron Lieberman outdid Rep. Maria Syms in Legislative District 28. Those outcomes narrow the party split in that chamber to 32-28.

And Dems could gain a fourth seat. Rep. Jeff Weninger won his re-election bid in Legislative District 17, but the race for the second seat was too close to call. Weninger’s fellow Republican Nora Ellen was behind Democrat Jennifer Pawlik by 1 p.m. Wednesday, but just about 400 votes separated the two.


LD10 House by the numbers

Early votes


Todd Clodfelter 29 percent


Kirsten Engel 35 percent

Domingo DeGrazia 30 percent


Joshua Reilly 6 percent